top of page

The Next to Last Mistake


*Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to this advanced readers copy*

Rating: 3.5

I want to preface this review by saying that I had just finished reading a sci-fi/fantasy prior to picking this up. For me, it is always hard to transition from fantasy to contemporary.

With that being said, the majority of this book was 3 stars for me. I couldn't figure out where the story was going until about 70% of the way through. The later half of the book bumped it up a half a star. The writing and storytelling weren't bad by any means, I just felt a little jerked around at times by certain messages that were trying to be conveyed. There were moments in the story that highlighted racism, stereotyping, and racial profiling but they seemed so random and out of place at times that I felt completely taken out of the story. I feel like these moments were meant to highlight the everyday occurrences some people experience, but they were often told in a manner that felt forced and often times, there was no followup. The reader was left questioning why it was mentioned in the first place.

Overall, I liked the theme of what it means to be taken out of your comfort zone and adapt to change. Life isn't predictable and is merely made up of moments reacting to the circumstances happening around us.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page