top of page

The Path Keeper-Book Review

The Path Keeper by N.J. Simmonds

Goodreads Summary:

What if every coincidence was a tiny miracle? What if our life was already mapped out before birth? What if someone had the power to change the path we were destined to follow? Ella hates her new life in London, she misses Spain and she’s struggling to get over her past until she meets Zac. He has always loved her but he isn’t meant to be part of Ella’s story. Not this time. Not ever. Little does she know that his secret is the one thing that will tear them apart and will force her to live in a world that no longer makes sense, a world more dangerous than she could ever imagine. The first in a thrilling new YA fantasy series, The Path Keeper is a tale of passion and secrets, of first loves and second chances, and the invisible threads that bind us. Can love ever be stronger than fate?

Personal Review:

*A special thanks to NetGalley for granting me early access to this title* The premise of this book seemed so promising to me. The first 30% kept me rather intrigued, but when the big reveal happened, I felt like the story started to unravel a little. For me, the execution fell short. There were also a few elements in the story that I struggled to get past. I know a lot of times that the author's views and character's views/stories do not necessarily align, but there were a couple of areas that I just could not get on board with. There was a particular dialogue surrounding an sexual assault scene that baffled me and blaming it on fate and being the person's "path" just did not sit right with me. Personally, I am not a fan of insta-love, and I felt like this story fell into that category. Unfortunately, it got a little too campy for me.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page